Laptop question -- how much 'cache' space do I have?

Video games, electronics and gadgets, elf ears and more
Post Reply
User avatar
Boinkity_Boink
Stew Ingredient
Posts: 8304
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 2:38 am

Laptop question -- how much 'cache' space do I have?

Post by Boinkity_Boink » Mon Jul 03, 2017 3:05 pm

This one should be a layup for anyone with a modicum of knowledge about computers. How much cache do I have? Is it 2.6 GHz? If so, it seems like lots of laptops have this much. Does it cost a lot to move to the next level?

Computer snapshot.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
muthafunky
Stew Ingredient
Posts: 22924
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 12:50 am

Re: Laptop question -- how much 'cache' space do I have?

Post by muthafunky » Tue Jul 18, 2017 11:41 pm

2.6 GHz is your clock speed. Google says the cache size is 3 MB. I have to admit, I've never bothered to look at cache size. Even clock speed isn't something I really look at, most important thing is number of cores. RAM and GPU are all I care about these days.

https://ark.intel.com/products/72164/Intel-Core-i5-3230M-Processor-3M-Cache-up-to-3_20-GHz-rPGA

User avatar
twodogs
Stew Ingredient
Posts: 8835
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 7:21 pm

Re: Laptop question -- how much 'cache' space do I have?

Post by twodogs » Tue Jul 25, 2017 5:00 pm

If your cache isn't large enough you can increase your virtual memory.

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/15055/windows-7-optimize-windows-better-performance
More irrational spitefulness coming from twodogs...

User avatar
mad hatter
Stew Ingredient
Posts: 25307
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 7:08 pm

Re: Laptop question -- how much 'cache' space do I have?

Post by mad hatter » Tue Jul 25, 2017 5:08 pm

This is about time for an Apple fanboi to jump in
Nines to Felix: "I know a lot of really successful lawyers. My oldest son is a full partner in a prestigious law firm. I know the gig. None of them have the time nor inclination to post the never-ending drivel like you've done for decades here"

User avatar
muthafunky
Stew Ingredient
Posts: 22924
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 12:50 am

Re: Laptop question -- how much 'cache' space do I have?

Post by muthafunky » Tue Jul 25, 2017 7:18 pm

Worrying about caches and virtual memory sound like things from 1998

User avatar
CatScanMan
Goat Roper
Posts: 15881
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 3:46 pm

Re: Laptop question -- how much 'cache' space do I have?

Post by CatScanMan » Thu Jul 27, 2017 7:58 am

Cache in this case is memory in the processor. You can't change it without changing your processor which to can't practically do on a laptop.

What's the context this has arisen?

User avatar
egjeg
Stew Ingredient
Posts: 4586
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 5:36 am

Re: Laptop question -- how much 'cache' space do I have?

Post by egjeg » Tue Aug 08, 2017 10:53 am

It has three cache levels (L1, L2, and L3). L1 being faster and smaller, and L3 being larger and slower.

A 32-KB instruction and 32-KB data first-level cache (L1) for each core
• A 256-KB shared instruction / data second-level cache (L2) for each core
• Up to 8-MB shared instruction / data third-level cache (L3), shared among all cores
Last edited by egjeg on Sat Jun 04, 2031 4:13 am, edited 5,730,142 time in total.

Post Reply