Classical Greece

We're travelers here. Tourists can be found on that other board.
Mbappe
Stew Ingredient

Classical Greece

Post by Mbappe » Thu Jul 12, 2018 10:16 pm

I am new to travel so was hoping for some guidance.

I am looking to take two weeks to a month out to bum around in Greece. No real plans or itinerary as yet and I only came back from Crete and Santorini two weeks back.

But roughly in my head I am thinking. Quick stop in Athens, then Mycenae, Corinth, Marathon, Sparta..

Then on to Delphi, Thermopylae, Mount Olympus and Alexander the Great history in Macedonia. Fly out of Thessaloniki.

Hiring a car should work. What would people who have done Greece advise?

Geoffers
Stew Ingredient

Re: Classical Greece

Post by Geoffers » Sat Jul 14, 2018 4:49 pm

Get there, follow your nose, eat drink sleep local. Don't have a plan. Read the Nicomachean Ethics while there . Visit a refugee camp or donate to one.

cuchulainn
Instigator

Post by cuchulainn » Sat Jul 14, 2018 5:16 pm

And now have I put in here, as thou seest, with ship and crew, while sailing over the wine-dark sea to men of strange speech
http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/hopper/tex ... card%3D178

micvan
Stew Ingredient

Post by micvan » Mon Jul 16, 2018 4:26 pm