Is 1 hour 20 mins enough time?

We're travelers here. Tourists can be found on that other board.
Post Reply
micvan
Stew Ingredient
Posts: 539
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:28 am

Is 1 hour 20 mins enough time?

Post by micvan » Tue Apr 10, 2018 8:55 am

I'm booking flights to Peru thru Mexico City. Outbound we only have 1hr 20 mins to transit (on the same carrier). I'm a bit nervous. It's air Mexico.

User avatar
Lincoln
Stew Ingredient
Posts: 16118
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 2:38 pm

Re: Is 1 hour 20 mins enough time?

Post by Lincoln » Tue Apr 10, 2018 10:40 am

Same carrier it should be ok...they'll book your luggage straight through and you'll just transit.

Ring them to confirm if you're worried.

Peru sounds amazing....very jealous.

micvan
Stew Ingredient
Posts: 539
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:28 am

Re: Is 1 hour 20 mins enough time?

Post by micvan » Tue Apr 10, 2018 1:01 pm

I printed off airport maps it's the same terminal and all, so that makes it easier. I'm contacting the airline today...Lincoln I'm sure you will get there sometime if you really want to!

User avatar
northern_goddess
Queen Bee
Posts: 53061
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 8:48 am

Re: Is 1 hour 20 mins enough time?

Post by northern_goddess » Tue Apr 10, 2018 2:59 pm

micvan wrote:
Tue Apr 10, 2018 8:55 am
I'm booking flights to Peru thru Mexico City. Outbound we only have 1hr 20 mins to transit (on the same carrier). I'm a bit nervous. It's air Mexico.
I've spent a lot of time in that airport. It's actually quite small. It should be no problem as long as your flight is on time.
I can picture in my mind a world without war, a world without hate. And I can picture us attacking that world, because they'd never expect it.

http://www.fat-pie.com/salad.htm

User avatar
Bill Barilko
Stew Ingredient
Posts: 15108
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 10:34 am

Re: Is 1 hour 20 mins enough time?

Post by Bill Barilko » Tue Apr 10, 2018 3:58 pm

That lineup can take forever so IMNSHO No that isn't nearly enough time you need a minimum 2 hours.
Nexus the criminally insane whore/backstabber wrote:You missed the porn site I set up in your name....Shall I send the link to everyone?

Cyllarus
Stew Ingredient
Posts: 2750
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 4:39 pm

Re: Is 1 hour 20 mins enough time?

Post by Cyllarus » Tue Apr 10, 2018 6:27 pm

As NG says not the biggest airport.

In 2000, we had a 20 minute transit window to connect with our flight to Toronto. We were flying from Tuxla Guttierez and originally had a 1 1/2 hour trnasit time but when we checked in at Tuxla they said, "Sorry, Aeromexico flight cancelled; did no one call you to rearrange flight?" As I was starting to get a bit riled up the AeroMexico check in lady hollered across hall to (Caribe Air? Air Carribean?) check in lady and asked her to put us on next flight to Mexico City. Which she did - front 2 seats business class on a 30-year old DC-9. As we boarded they told us that we would be first off, an Aeromexico employee would meet us at gate, and then we would have to run for our lives with this employee to make our connection. I pumped down a couple of tequilas for rocket fuel before plane landed.

We were first off, Aeromexico emplyee waiting for us (wearing running shoes instead of usual high heels) and the race was on. About half way to our gate, the Aeromexico emplyee gasped out, ' By the way sir, your flight has been delayed for 2 hours".... 'Really, [pant, pant] then why are we running so hard??" Anywho, we then stopped off at Duty Free for some high end tequila and then leisurley made our way to the gate.

User avatar
cummy
Stew Ingredient
Posts: 9074
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 2:17 pm

Re: Is 1 hour 20 mins enough time?

Post by cummy » Wed Apr 11, 2018 3:41 am

this is just off the top of my head. you may have to check my facts (or opinions!).

aeromexico and other skyteam partners use T2 @ MEX. T2 is a manageable sized terminal. T1 is not; T1 is very very long.

when you land in MEX, you will be required to go through customs/immig, claim your bags (yes!), throw your bags on the transfer belt, go through security (so watch out for the liquids and gels), and then get into the boarding area again. all of that will take time. people have done it in a matter of minutes. a few have reported > 2 hours, but those occurrences seem extremely rare.

User avatar
northern_goddess
Queen Bee
Posts: 53061
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 8:48 am

Re: Is 1 hour 20 mins enough time?

Post by northern_goddess » Wed Apr 11, 2018 4:28 am

As of my last trip through the airport in Mexico City (in February) they had changed their practice with luggage and you no longer claim them at the airport (whether your final destination is regional or international). They now just send them through and you claim them at your final destination. The new policy had only been implemented a few days before I got there and it was a bit of a mess. I'm sure things are sorted out now. If you depart your plane on the tarmac and have to bus in to the terminal you do have to go through security again but that entire process has always been very efficient and quick.
I can picture in my mind a world without war, a world without hate. And I can picture us attacking that world, because they'd never expect it.

http://www.fat-pie.com/salad.htm

User avatar
cummy
Stew Ingredient
Posts: 9074
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 2:17 pm

Re: Is 1 hour 20 mins enough time?

Post by cummy » Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:14 am

northern_goddess wrote:
Wed Apr 11, 2018 4:28 am
They now just send them through and you claim them at your final destination.
welcome to 2018, MEX! bienvenido a 2018, MEX!

micvan
Stew Ingredient
Posts: 539
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:28 am

Re: Is 1 hour 20 mins enough time?

Post by micvan » Fri Apr 13, 2018 9:54 am

I saw on the website as we are transitting thru without staying we will be ushered to a transit hall to wait for our connector and will not go thru passport control. We only have carryon I hate having to stress over luggage!

Steve_in_Exile
Stew Ingredient
Posts: 13834
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 3:59 am

Re: Is 1 hour 20 mins enough time?

Post by Steve_in_Exile » Sat Apr 14, 2018 1:50 am

I transited through Mexico City a month or so back on trip to Guatemala. The baggage went straight through to final destination, but I had to go thorough Mexican immigration control, which was a major pain the the ass. Long lines and very slow.

User avatar
Bill Barilko
Stew Ingredient
Posts: 15108
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 10:34 am

Re: Is 1 hour 20 mins enough time?

Post by Bill Barilko » Sat Apr 14, 2018 2:53 am

Steve_in_Exile wrote:
Sat Apr 14, 2018 1:50 am
I transited through Mexico City a month or so back.... I had to go thorough Mexican immigration control, which was a major pain the the ass. Long lines and very slow.
Always will be-Mexican politics being the reason.
Nexus the criminally insane whore/backstabber wrote:You missed the porn site I set up in your name....Shall I send the link to everyone?

micvan
Stew Ingredient
Posts: 539
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:28 am

Re: Is 1 hour 20 mins enough time?

Post by micvan » Sat Apr 21, 2018 5:08 pm

I'll let you know how it goes....

User avatar
VinnyD
Stew Ingredient
Posts: 64950
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 3:35 pm

Re: Is 1 hour 20 mins enough time?

Post by VinnyD » Sat Apr 21, 2018 9:00 pm

Good story, Cyllarus.

micvan
Stew Ingredient
Posts: 539
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:28 am

Re: Is 1 hour 20 mins enough time?

Post by micvan » Tue Sep 04, 2018 1:53 am

Well we landed at 2 this afternoon. Our flight from Vancouver to Mexico City was late, so beelined to immigration which was quite quick. Bit of a bottleneck thru security as babies + buggies and diaper bags were being checked and scrutinized. Gotta watch those babies I understand they can get cunning smuggling Gerbers or whatever it is really young people are into nowadays ;). But then thing went very smoothly and we were at the gate joining in the line being ushered on board. Actually landed in Lima 10 minutes early. May things went so well at Mexico City as it was a pretty early morning arrival and not a lot of flights coming in. Had a wonderful huge supper. Must be careful I may have to change my user name to Gordita!

Post Reply